Sure…go ahead…drink and drive; but dont forget to die.

WENT TO A PARTY, MOM –
I went to a party,
And remembered what you said.
You told me not to drink, Mom
So I had a sprite instead.

I felt proud of myself,
The way you said I would,
That I didn’t drink and drive,
Though some friends said I should.

I made a healthy choice,
And your advice to me was right,
The party finally ended,
And the kids drove out of sight.

I got into my car,
Sure to get home in one piece,
I never knew what was coming, Mom
Something I expected least.

Now I’m lying on the pavement,
And I hear the policeman say,
The kid that caused this wreck was drunk,
Mom, his voice seems far away.

My own blood’s all around me,
As I try hard not to cry.
I can hear the paramedic say,
This girl is going to die.

I’m sure the guy had no idea,
While he was flying high,
! Because he chose to drink and drive,
Now I would have to die.

So why do people do it, Mom
Knowing that it ruins lives?
And now the pain is cutting me,
Like a hundred stabbing knives.

Tell sister not to be afraid, Mom
Tell daddy to be brave,
And when I go to heaven,
Put “Daddy’s Girl” on my grave.

Someone should have taught him,
That it’s wrong to drink and drive.
Maybe if his parents had,
I’d still be alive.

My breath is getting shorter, Mom
I’m getting really scared.
These are my final moments,
And I’m so unprepared.

I wish that you could hold me Mom,
As I lie here and die.
I wish that I could say, “I love you, Mom!”
So I love you and good-bye.

Taken from MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Drivers)


This is a poem that has been in circulation to get people involved in reducing drunk driving. When I saw all those picture in Mumbai Mirror’s front page with these Bandra kids running over people, I said, ‘You know, they are bad company! They have no scruples and they have enough money to get away with anything.’

The next day a friend of mine and I stayed over at another friend’s place. Probably the second time in my life I was sleeping over. Her older friend came downstairs and asked her if she would go for a drive. We told her it wasn’t wise, but she insisted. She was out of her house, she wanted to feel the freedom of doing something she wouldn’t do with her parents around. I offered to go with her to keep an eye on this ‘guy’. I sat sulking in the backseat. The music was good, the car comfortable. Everything was looking up. Then he suggested that we should drive to bandstand. It was only 10 minutes away and I wasn’t sure I wanted to cut my friend’s night out so short. So I didn’t say anything.
 Then conversation started. He started bragging about how many drinks he had had that night and she was enamored. Then he took a few zig-zag shots at the straight road to prove he was sober and thrill his female companions. Through all the laughter and false screams, I could see the next day’s newspaper headlines loud and clear.
‘STOP’, I said.
They weren’t sure they heard me right. ‘You look sober, but I know that wouldn’t count once we are lying dead with the urchins on the footpath. Please drive us back.’ They grunted, even debated it and finally out of respect for my moroseness, turned back. She was hurt, he was frozen.

But by being a bad friend and a good judge, I guess I missed being in the morning paper. Ah! My bad.

Tags:

One thought on “Sure…go ahead…drink and drive; but dont forget to die.

  1. Good for you!
    My 11 year old ran across this poem recently and started crying. She says now that she’ll never drink and drive, but I hope she remembers that feeling forever.

    Have you seen this poster?

Leave a Reply

